Packing tips: Weekend Edition

Hello lovely friends! I hope you have been enjoying this amazingly beautiful weather as much as I have. Yesterday I got to sit out on the quad and just enjoy the beauty that is JMU (DUUUUKES!). I’m actually super excited and hoping the joy that is this weather continues this weekend because… it’s my annual birthday Georgetown/DC trip with my family!

Every year since starting college, my family and I meet in DC the weekend after my birthday. It’s kind of a halfway point between my home home and my school home so it’s most convenient (and fun) for all. We always end up going to delicious restaurants, shopping on M street, and enjoying a museum or cupcake (pro tip Georgetown cupcakes have a big hype behind them and Sprinkles taste even better. Low-key also wanna try Baked and Wired cupcakes cause the locals say they are the best).

This year, my wonderful dad planned a spa day for his girls on Saturday (#blessed) and we also will probably hit up the shops that day. Unfortunately, it is supposed to rain this year on Saturday but that shouldn’t keep us down. The first year when we went it decided to snow about 2 feet and I had not brought any shoes for the snow (shoutout to Kenz for overpacking like I always do and bringing Hunters and Bean boots for me to steal) so I think we can handle a little rain.

I will not let the overpacking or packing crisis happen this time though. That’s why I figured a weekend packing guide is the best way to go! Here are some of the things I am bringing for the trip and just other helpful packing tips for a weekend getaway:

General list:

  • 3 outfits (this includes one extra in case something happens to the others)
  • toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, face wash, toothbrush, etc)
  • 2 pairs of shoes (if possible and maybe even wear one of them)
  • pjs
  • underwear, socks, bras/bralettes
  • jewelry
  • accessories (sunglasses, purse, umbrella, etc)
  • chargers
  • camera

For weekend trips (and most trips in a car in general), I bring my large Vera Bradley duffle and my Kate Spade purse. I am not bringing my backpack because I know for a fact I won’t be doing homework until I get back on Sunday.

Here are the 3 outfits I’m bringing for a weekend in Georgetown (pics of me wearing them will probably be in the post on Monday):

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This is the option for Saturday if it does not rain (fingers crossed). I will be styling some white chucks and a corduroy front button skirt and striped boat tee from old navy.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Always come prepared I say so I’m bringing these cute red hunters to splash around in just in case the skies open up.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This is the outfit I chose for Sunday morning brunch because I know it is supposed to cool down a little bit. The turtleneck is from White House Black Market, jeans from AE, jacket from F21, and booties are Lucky Brand.

img_8373

I decide I will bring an extra outfit in case it is warmer than I plan on Sunday or if I want something a little different for Saturday. I just switched out the tops for a maroon tank from Old Navy and a cardigan from Urban.

We are going to places to eat (nice dinners and Sunday brunch) and shopping so I figured these would be pretty versatile for these occasions. I also am bringing rain boots just in case it actually rains but planning on wearing my converse or booties if the weather channel is completely wrong (here is my overpacking problem because I am already breaking my own rule and bringing 3 pairs of shoes).

Other important things for a weekend trip (especially in the car) include an iced coffee (I’m stopping by Dunkin’ to get my free birthday drink), a killer playlist, and Waze for directions if ya get a little lost.

I’m super excited to see my sister, mom, and dad; I feel like it has been forever (approximately a month and a half actually). Plus, this year we get to celebrate my 21st and what better way to do that than with the people I love most. I hope you enjoyed this packing guide. I am actually planning on doing another one about a week from today for SPRANG BREAK so get ready for that one coming at you! Also get hype and stay tuned to find out where I am headed!

xoxo Morgan

Comment away!

