The One Where I Went Vegetarian

Let me clarify… for a week! I definitely could not do this full time. I was hardcore craving a burger or Chick Fil A by the end of the week (I even slightly cheated on my last day because I figured I had gone long enough).

The whole reason I did this was because of my 101 in 1001 list (read it here and let me know which I should do next!). It was actually quite an interesting experience to say the least and sadly I do not think it is something I will be trying full time. It definitely gave me a good perspective though.

I will walk you through what I ate each day, generally how I felt, and I will try to include some recipes!

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Monday

Breakfast: Vanilla greek yogurt with blueberries, raspberries, and honey granola

Lunch: Spinach wrap with red pepper hummus, american cheese, lettuce, cucumbers, sweet peppers, black olives, and mayo. Side of Sun Chips

Dinner: Zoodles (zucchini noodles) with red pepper, mushrooms, spinach, alfredo sauce, and mozzarella cheese

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Tuesday

Breakfast: peanut butter whole wheat toast topped with bananas and a clementine on the side

Lunch: Spinach and arugula salad with almonds, corn, tomatoes, cucumbers, eggs, cheddar cheese, and ranch

Snack: cashews

Dinner: Buddha Bowl (here’s the recipe from Pinterest I based it on and how I cooked the chickpeas but I switched it up) – brown rice, roasted sweet potatoes, roasted chickpeas, sautéed red peppers, onion, mushrooms, and zucchini all topped with avocado ranch dressing

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Wednesday

Breakfast: Banana and peanut butter, clementine, blue machine Naked juice

Lunch: spinach salad with tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, black olives, craisins, mozzarella cheese, and ranch with a Banging Berry smoothie from Freshens

Snack: veggie straws

Dinner: leftover Buddha Bowl (same as before)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Thursday

Breakfast: Yogurt with granola, blueberries, and raspberries

Lunch: Same salad as Tuesday

Snack: veggie straws and hummus

Dinner: deconstructed Buddha bowl… didn’t have anymore rice and did not like the chickpeas enough to eat more so I had the sweet potatoes with avocado ranch and the veggies on the side

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Friday

Breakfast part 1 lol: Red machine Naked juice and banana

Brunch: scrambled eggs with mushrooms, red peppers, spinach, and cheddar cheese with raspberries, blueberries, and toast on the side

Dinner: black bean burger from O’Neills (and of course a cookie skillet)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Saturday

Breakfast: banana and mighty mango Naked juice

Lunch: veggie sandwich from Sheetz

Dinner: Spaghetti squash with red peppers, mushrooms, spinach, and alfredo sauce with mozzarella on top

Sunday

So Sunday is the day I fell off the wagon….. I was supposed to last until Monday but the bacon at breakfast was calling my name.

Being a vegetarian is definitely an experience and I give props to everyone who is one. I noticed I was more hungry than usual and tended to snack between meals. I was also tired but I could not tell if that was due to lack of sleep or little protein. I did not notice a change in my skin, maybe a little less breaking out but honestly not a big change.

All in all, eating healthy is a big priority to me so this was something to try. If you have any other questions, let me know! I would love to answer them. Would you ever try being a vegetarian?

xoxo Morgan

3 comments

  1. val · April 4

    Kudos to you for trying the vegetarian diet, it definitely is not for everyone and it takes a lot of adjusting! You always continue to amaze me.I don’t know how you find the time to do all the things that you do. You are so creative in your ways and your thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thepatternedprep · April 4

      it was definitely an adjustment. thank you so much! I probably do more things than I should for my mental sake haha

      Like

  2. ColeTriesNewThings · April 4

    Great! I went vegan for a week for my blog and really struggled with it! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comment away!

