Why I Relay

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

One thing I am so proud of my school for is the commitment we all have to Relay for Life. Most clubs at JMU participate and try to raise as much money as they can to fight cancer. My sorority, Gamma Sigma Sigma, was one of these clubs.

If anyone doesn’t know what Relay is, it is an all night event that goes from 6 at night to 6 in the morning. Everyone raises money for their teams and then walks the track the entire night, because cancer doesn’t sleep. At JMU, they have the main stage with A Capella groups performing and other performers to keep everyone entertained.

By the time dawn rolls around, they announce how much was raised as well at the top ten teams that raised the most money. My sorority came in third place out of all the clubs for fundraising.

It is a fun time to hangout with friends and get to take cute pics but that’s not the reason I Relay.

I Relay for more birthdays. I Relay for those who are fighting and those who were taken too soon. I Relay for the mom’s, grandmother’s, sister’s, brother’s, dad’s, friend’s… no one should have to experience the loss of a loved one and something needs to be done to stop that loss. No one should have to suffer, through the chemo and the pain. I walk in memory of those that I miss, those that are battling, and those that have won the fight. Everyone deserves a chance to win their battle. I walk to fight cancer.

xoxo Morgan

One comment

  1. Linley · April 24

    So inspiring! Thanks for my daily break!

    Liked by 1 person

Comment away!

