Coffee Date No. 4

IMG_0057.JPG

Happy midweek and welcome to the newest coffee date on the Patterned Prep! I’m not sure how everyone feels about these dates but hopefully you’re joining me with your cup of joe, tea, or whatever beverage fits your fancy with you as you read this.  My plants being in a cup counts as my cup of joe right?

One thing I am trying to remind myself of lately is to enjoy the little things and the little moments. I feel like that has been a theme lately in my life, as you have seen in a fair amount of posts. With a stressful Maymester (a four week summer class at JMU) and a little homesickness setting in, I’ve been trying to find little moments of gratefulness and joy.

I believe that finding little joys helps us understand the bigger picture of life. God gives us little joys, almost as a mini glimpse of the joy waiting for us. He finds so much joy in us, in us living our lives.

We have to find little moments and recognize the little joys. The other day I noticed how bad of a plant mom I was. My baby succulents were dying (how does a person kill the easiest plant to own, right?) and I decided it was time for some new ones. I treated myself to some new ones.

Let me tell you, taking care of succulents is harder than people make it out to be. I went to Lowes in search of some new cuties. Once I got home, I turned on my speaker with my “cowboy boots on” playlist on Spotify. I sat out on the deck and took in all the sunlight as I planted my new succulents. Out with the old and in with the new!

Noticing little moments like that one that make me happy and help me forget about the things I am struggling with. Little moments put things in perspective. Nothing is as bad as it seems when you can focus on the good. Just like planting new succulents, finding that new perspective to get rid of the old thoughts brings joy.

So I encourage you to look for the little moments. Look for little joys and ways to find that new perspective. Bring life to your heart and mind, rather than making your troubles to be some big mountain you can’t face.

What little joys do you notice in your life?

xoxo Morgan

One comment

  1. val · May 17

    Girl, you are so right!! What a reminder for us all. Love your posts, but love you more!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comment away!

