Monthly Mantra: June 2017

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Hello friends! As the month of May is ending (and shoutout Lauren for your 21ST!!!), I decided to start thinking ahead for next month. I feel like having a saying or a goal each month adds a certain aspect of importance and something to aim for. After my past monthly mantra (read that one here!), I decided to figure out my newest goal.

This coming month I thought of something that truly pertains to my personality. This month my saying, or more of a goal, is to take lots of pictures. And more specifically, to not care if they are aesthetically pleasing or good enough to be posted on some form of social media.

I just want to document everything. I love capturing moments. Whether it be the coffee I drank that day, the sunset during the golden hour, or candid laughter, I love being able to look back at a later date and see what was going on.

And as much as I love the aesthetically pleasing picture, sometimes that adds so much pressure. Sometimes the little imperfections make a picture more aesthetically pleasing or even more realistic.

I also just being able to look back at what was happening at my life at a certain time. A picture is worth a thousand words as they say and I say a picture is worth a thousand memories. Being able to look back years from now, when your memory might have changed a bit, is so much easier when you see the smile on your face.

I probably sound crazy talking so much about taking photos but it is something that makes me happy. When someone asks to take a picture with me, it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy because to me, it means they want to capture the moment that we spent together. To me, I want to capture the people who had a lot of meaning in my life so I take it the same way when someone asks the same.

So next time when I feel ridiculous stopping on the quad to take a picture and capture the moment, I want to remember my mantra for this June. I want to make sure my memories are preserved forever.

Let me know if you decide to adopt this mantra for the coming month as well!

xoxo Morgan

One comment

  1. Pingback: Summer Time Fun | The Patterned Prep

Comment away!

